The Benjamin F. Levy Community Service Award is presented by the Louis D. Brandeis Law Society at its annual Chanukah party. The award provides recognition to an individual who is a member of the bench or bar and has demonstrated a sustained commitment to serving the legal and broader community.

The award was established in 2001 by the forerunner of the Louis D. Brandeis Law Society, Tau Epsilon Rho, to honor the life of Benjamin F. Levy (z’l), and has been presented by the Brandeis Law Society since 2004.

Our Society benefited from Levy’s tireless commitment and he is remembered as a leader whose efforts contributed to the creation of the Louis D. Brandeis Law Society. Levy epitomized the ideal of social responsibility and generous service to others as shown by his dedication to our Society, the Philadelphia Bar Association, Temple Law School, Philadelphia Folk Festival and a myriad of organizations within the larger community.

The award is a hand-crafted pewter and brass dreidel designed and created by local Judaica artist, Joy Stember.

The Louis D. Brandeis Law Society is proud to honor the memory of a member who believed so much in the value of community service by perpetuating the Benjamin F. Levy Community.

Past Recipients of the Benjamin F. Levy Community Service Award

2001: District Attorney, Honorable Lynne Abraham
2002: David L. Cohen , Esquire
2003: Judith Frankel Rubino, Esquire
2004: Lawrence J. Beaser, Esquire
2005: Honorable Myrna Field
2006: Harris T. Bock, Esquire
2007: Louis W. Fryman
2008: Honorable Anne E. Lazarus and Mitchell H. Klevan, Esquire
2009: Mayer Horwitz, Esquire
2010: Senator Arlen Specter
2011: Edward F. Chacker, Esq.
2012: Bernard M. Gross, Esquire
2013: Honorable Pamela Pryor Dembe
2014: Abraham C. Reich, Esquire
2015: Adam E. Laver, Esq.